Categories
BLOG

50 grams weed

Newton Marijuana Possession over 50 Grams Lawyers

Drug Charges Defense Attorneys in Sussex and Warren County, New Jersey

Marijuana Charges in NJ

The marijuana possession laws in New Jersey set the bar between a fourth degree crime and a disorderly persons offense at 50 grams. That is, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(4), if you are charged with possession of any amount of marijuana under 50 grams, you will be charged with a disorderly persons offense. On the other hand, if you are charged with possession of marijuana over 50 grams, it is a fourth degree crime. Additionally, it is important to note that in cases where a significant amount of marijuana is found there may also be charges issued for possession with intent to distribute pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5(10) through (12). Regardless of the marijuana possession crime you have been accused of in Sussex County or Warren County, the experienced New Jersey marijuana defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm have handled thousands of these cases in courts across the state. In fact, they have successfully fought marijuana charges in Vernon, Newton, Belvidere, Sparta, Phillipsburg, and throughout New Jersey, earning a reputation as aggressive and highly effective defenders of their clients. To learn about how they can help you beat your marijuana charges and move forward with your life, call 973-755-1695 today for a free consultation.

Here is a review from one of the many satisfied Tormey Law Firm clients:

“Elite NJ Marijuana Attorney! 5 Stars!!”

“Second time in 18 months Travis has gotten me out of multiple marijuana charges with just court fines. No probation, no loss of license, just pay the fine. (Decent little fine tho hear in NJ). But by nj state law with all my charges was facing a potential 2 year loss of license, probation and even jail! I enjoy the occasional smoke so probation was something that was terrifying. That was no obstacle for Mr. Travis Tormey and his team as I left court with just a fine and no other punishment.Hiring Travis made my entire situation way less stressful. Travis is an excellent defense attorney and from my experiences with him shows very strong knowledge of constitutional rights, yet blends that with superb negotiating skills in court as well as tremendous charisma in front of the judge. Travis and his team do a great job of not only taking the stres out of the process but as well as getting you the best legal representation you could hope for. Also very nonjudgemental and didn’t seem to think negatively of me as a person, not that it matters. If you are facing marijuana charges in nj I highly recommend Mr. Travis Tormey as an elite attorney. He will do a great job and most importantly does not make false promises but delivers the goods on game day. Excellent attorney, and the head of a tremendous team.. 5 stars.”

Possession of More than 50 Grams of Marijuana in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(3)

According to the New Jersey Criminal Code, it is unlawful for any person, knowingly or purposely, to obtain, or to possess, actually or constructively, a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance analog, unless the substance was obtained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or order from a practitioner. With respect to marijuana, specifically over 50 grams, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a(3) sets forth that possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, including any adulterants or dilutants, or more than five grams of hasish is of a crime of the fourth degree.

The general penalties for fourth degree crimes in New Jersey included a fine of up to $10,000 and 18 months imprisonment. However, drug crimes carry additional penalties. Specifically, a conviction for fourth degree possession of marijuana over 50 grams permits the court to impose a fine of up to $25,000. Additionally, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-16, a person convicted of a drug crime shall forfeit the right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of not less than six months or more than two years; and there will also be a drug enforcement and demand reduction penalty of $750 in accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15.

Contact Belvidere Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys

The marijuana defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm will fight tooth and nail to defend you. As with all criminal matters, in a case of marijuana possession of over 50 grams, it is the State’s burden to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that a defendant, in fact, possessed marijuana. Accordingly, we utilize a meticulous and detailed analysis when to comes to defending our clients because every detail to a case is important. If you have been charged with possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, contact the marijuana defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm to learn more about the charges, potential consequences, and how we can fight to defend your case.

Our attorneys fight possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana charges in Newton, Belvidere, Hackettstown, Sparta, Vernon, Sussex and Warren county NJ.